home foreword History Rulers architecture monuments general

Two brothers, Harihara and Bukka are believed to have established the Kingdom with the help of great Hindu sage VIDYARANYA of Sringeri Math.

With the extension of Muslim rule over the Deccan in the first half of the 14th century, the political situation in South India underwent a dramatic change. The declining powers of the existing South Indian kings like the Hoysalas, the Pandyas, the Kakatiyas and the Yadavas yielded place for the establishment of two powerful kingdoms, the VIJAYANAGARA at Hampi and the BAHAMANI at Bijapur.

Four dynasties ruled over the Vijayanagara Empire from 1336 - 1565 AD.

The Sangamas
The Saluvas
The Tuluvas
The Aravidus

Home - Foreword - History - Rulers - Architecture - Monuments - General

© copyright 2001-2004. All rights reserved.
an infotainment channel of webonautics